Glorious Goodwood

Although officially renamed as the Qatar Goodwood Festival, for sponsorship purposes, for most people the five-day festival that takes place at Goodwood in late July and early August will always be known as “Glorious Goodwood”. Thrilling racing action, a superb location – high on the South Downs five miles north of Chichester, West Sussex – and (hopefully) fine weather make Glorious Goodwood one of the highlights of the British racing calendar.

Sussex Stakes

The Sussex Stakes, run over a mile and open to horses of both sexes aged three years and upwards, is the first of three championship level, or Group One, races staged at Glorious Goodwood and takes place on the second day of the five-day festival. Part of the British Champions Series and offering £1 million in prize money, the Sussex Stakes is the most prestigious and valuable race of the week. Often billed as the “Duel on the Downs”, the Sussex Stakes was won in both 2011 and 2012 by the unbeaten Frankel.

Goodwood Cup

Also part of the British Champions Series, the Goodwood Cup, run over 2 miles and, again, open to horses of both sexes aged three years and upwards, is the highlight of the third day at Glorious Goodwood, a.k.a. “Ladies Day”. Falling between the Gold Cup at Royal Ascot in June and the Doncaster Cup at the St. Leger Festival in September, the Goodwood Cup is the middle leg of the “Stayers’ Triple Crown”, last won by Double Trigger in 1995. Fittingly, the Goodwood Cup was elevated to Group One status in 2017, at which time the prize money was increased to £500,000.

Nassau Stakes

The Nassau Stakes, run over 1 mile 1 furlong and 192 yards and open to fillies and mares aged three years and upwards, is the third, and final, Group One contest of the week and the feature race on the final day of the Glorious Goodwood meeting. Like the Sussex Stakes and the Goodwood Cup, the Nassau Stakes is part of the British Champion Series and offers £600,000 in prize money.

No comments:

Post a Comment